The #1 Resource for aussie gambling!
  • Safe & Secure Sites
  • 100's of Free Games
  • Expert Casino Reviews

The #1 Resource for aussie gambling!

Expanded Big Bash fixture released, Scorchers open as favourites

Mon, Jul 31, 3:40pm by Staff Writer

The 10 Big Bash League teams are set to play an expanded 10 game home and away season, up from eight last season. The change in length of the season hasn’t affected the betting markets, with the defending Champion Perth Scorchers topping the market, at $4, to defend their title.

The team who the Scorchers beat in the semi-final last season, the Melbourne Stars, are on the second line of betting, at $5.50, for what would be the club’s first title.

There are three teams at $6, the Renegades, Heat and last season’s runners-up, the Sixers. The Strikers are an $8 chance while the Hurricanes and Thunder are the tournament outsiders at $10.

Sportsbet’s Christian Jantzen said “the Scorchers have won three of the past four Big Bash Leagues so we simply had to put them up as favourites but it’s one of the more even markets you’ll ever see.”

With the season expanding to 40 home and away games, the semi-finals and final will be held in the first week of the school year, outside the school-holiday period that has been such a successful window for the T20 tournament.

The semi-finals are locked in for February 1 and 2, a Thursday and Friday, with the decider to be played on Sunday February 4.

Launceston will host a BBL fixture for the first time this year, and there may be some new markets explored by the Sydney Thunder Adelaide Strikers, and Melbourne Renegades.

Venues for games on January 3, 13 and 24 are yet to be confirmed but it’s expected they will be held in Geelong, Canberra and Alice Springs respectively.

The seventh edition of the hugely successful tournament begins on Tuesday December 19, with the Sydney Thunder taking on the Sydney Sixers at Spotless Stadium.

Sportsbet Markets

Big Bash League Winner

Perth Scorchers – $4

Melbourne Stars – $5.50

Melbourne Renegades – $6

Brisbane Heat – $6

Sydney Sixers – $6

Adelaide Strikers – $8

Hobart Hurricanes – $10

Sydney Thunder – $10

More News

See All News