The #1 Resource for aussie gambling!
  • Safe & Secure Sites
  • 100's of Free Games
  • Expert Casino Reviews

The #1 Resource for aussie gambling!

F1 Update: Vettel wins in Hungary, Ricciardo out on first lap

Mon, Jul 31, 1:38pm by Head Editor

Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel has increased his Formula One Drivers’ World Championship lead to 14 points on Sunday with a win in Budapest, while Daniel Ricciardo was put out of the race, by his teammate, on the first lap.

Ricciardo’s Hungarian Grand Prix was over as soon as it began after he was rammed by teammate Max Verstappen. The disastrous collision took place on the second turn, when Verstappen locked his brakes and smashed into the side of Ricciardo’s car.

The Australian was angry and had this to say about the incident on the radio: “Someone hit me. Was that who I think it was? ****ing sore loser.”

While the Red Bull teammates didn’t see eye to eye on that incident, it was all smiles for Ferrari teammates Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen, who finished one-two.

Four-time World Champion Vettel controlled the race from start to finish, to salute for the first time in five races since the Monaco Grand Prix, and shortened the gap in the betting market, moving into $2.20 to win the Drivers’ Championship.

Lewis Hamilton remains favourite, at $1.83, to secure the Drivers crown, despite finishing in fourth place, just behind his Mercedes teammate Valtteri Bottas, who is now assessed as a $21 shot.

Hamilton allowed the Finnish driver to take third place on and finish on the podium on the final lap, which was a classy act of sportsmanship.

The Brit was honouring an agreement he had made with Bottas, that if he couldn’t overtake the second-placed Ferrari, then he would fall back behind his teammate.

The Belgian Grand Prix begins on August 25.

Sportsbet Markets

Drivers Championship

L Hamilton $1.83

S Vettel $2.20

V Bottas $21

D Kvyat $501

J Palmer $501

R Grosjean $501

D Ricciardo $501

S Perez $501

C Sainz Jr $501

M Verstappen $501

E Ocon $501

L Stroll $501

N Hulkenberg $501

P Wehrlein $501

F Alonso $501

S Vandoorne $501

F Massa $501

K Magnussen $501

M Ericsson $501

K Raikkonen $501

More News

See All News