The #1 Resource for aussie gambling!
  • Safe & Secure Sites
  • 100's of Free Games
  • Expert Casino Reviews

The #1 Resource for aussie gambling!

Nick Kyrgios firms for Australian Open after winning Brisbane International

Mon, Jan 8, 3:43pm by Head Editor

Despite carrying a niggling knee injury, Australia’s Nick Kyrgios has claimed his first title on home soil, defeating America’s Ryan Harrison in straight sets.

The enigmatic Canberra-native overcame a slow start, where he had to save five break points, before steadying and making the important break of his own in the seventh game of the opening set.

The 6-4 6-2 win sees the 22-year-old move up to 17th in the World Rankings and sees his quote to win his home Grand Slam, which starts in Melbourne on Monday, from $17 into $12.

Sportsbet reported on Monday that they’ve taken more money on Kyrgios than any other player to win 2018’s first Grand Slam, which has seen him move onto the sixth line of betting.

Sportsbet’s Christian Jantzen said “Nick Kyrgios was a $26 chance at the start of the summer, but his price has more than halved after a great week in Brisbane, and the punters are coming from everywhere now.”

While the Canberran lifted the trophy in the Queensland capital on Sunday, reigning Australian Open champion Roger Federer did the same in Perth, when he lifted the Hopman Cup, which saw his price for back-to-back titles move in from $3.25 to $2.75.

Sitting on the second line of betting at $5 is Rafael Nadal, who of course lost the decider to Federer at Melbourne Park last year. The World No.1 hasn’t played since he lost to David Goffin at the World Tour Finals in London in November, but is putting his injured knee to the test at Kooyong this week.

Novak Djokovic is at $6, ahead of both Alexander Zverev and Grigor Dimitrov, who sit at $10. The latter lost to Kyrgios at Pat Rafter Arena in the semi-finals of the Brisbane International.

Sportsbet Markets

Australian Open – Men’s Winner

Roger Federer $2.75

Rafael Nadal $5

Novak Djokovic $6

Alexander Zverev $10

Grigor Dimitrov $10

Nick Kyrgios $12

Juan Martin Del Potro $15

David Goffin $19

Stan Wawrinka $26

Dominic Thiem $26

Marin Cilic $31

More News

See All News