The #1 Resource for aussie gambling!
  • Safe & Secure Sites
  • 100's of Free Games
  • Expert Casino Reviews

The #1 Resource for aussie gambling!

Tuivasa-Sheck becomes first Warrior to win the Dally M Medal

Thu, Sep 27, 9:29am by Head Editor

Warriors captain Roger Tuivasa-Sheck is the 2018 Dally M Medalist after the star fullback stormed home with 14 points in the last nine rounds of the season.

Tuivasa-Sheck created history by becoming the first Warriors player to take out the NRL’s highest individual honour, finishing on 29 points, two ahead of Newcastle fullback Kalyn Ponga.

The count went down to the wire with a dramatic final round seeing the 25-year-old collect three points in his club’s 20-16 win over Canberra which saw him overtake Ponga who missed the final round with an ankle injury.

The Warriors fullback becomes the first to win the award from that position since Ben Barba in 2012. It was a richly deserved honour for the New Zealand International who averaged 167 metres a match and broke 92 tackles in 2018.

Wests Tigers halfback Luke Brooks finished on 26 points after failing to record a point in the final three rounds of the season.

Pearce comes fifth despite missing three months

Sharks fullback Valentine Holmes finishing in fourth place on 25 votes after finishing strong in the second half of the year while Knights halfback Mitchell Pearce was two back on 23 points, even though he missed 12 games with a pectoral injury.

Moments after Tuivasa-Sheck made his acceptance speech, New Zealand Kiwis teammates Issac Luke, Jazz Tevaga, Jordan Rapana and Jamayne Isaako produced an emotion-charged haka in honour of Tuivasa-Sheck’s achievement, which moved the fullback to tears.

Other winners of the night included Jamayne Isaako of the Broncos who was named rookie of the year while Rabbitohs Boss Anthony Seibold was named coach of the season.

Cook named fan favourite

Rabbitoh Damien Cook won the fan’s player of the year while the Inaugural Women’s State of Origin game took out moment of the year and Broncos hooker Brittany Breayley, who played in that contest, was adjudged the women’s player of the year.

As expected, Melbourne Storm captain Cameron Smith was named captain of the year ahead of Tuivasa-Sheck and his counterpart in this Sunday’s decider Boyd Cordner.

Smith and his teammates are $1.67 favourites as of Thursday morning to lift the Provan-Summons Trophy ahead of the tricolours who are out at $2.20 but if their only meeting this season is anything to go by, which the Storm won 9-8, we are in for a close one.

Storm fullback Billy Slater was cleared to play by the NRL judiciary on Tuesday night after he was cited for a shoulder charge on Cronulla winger Sosaia Feki on Friday night. That news saw Melbourne’s odds come in from $1.85 to their current mark.

NRL Grand Final Odds

Sydney Roosters $2.20 Melbourne Storm $1.67

Handicap: Melbourne -2 ($1.91)

Margin: Melbourne 1-12 $2.75; 13+ $4.20

Sydney 1-12 $3.10; 13+ $6.50

Total match points over/under 32.5 ($1.90)

*See full betting market here

More News

  • Yobetit casino launched
    Yobetit casino launched

    Maltese iGaming company Yobetit has launched its online casino. Calvin Ayre is reporting that the casino offers a variety of games from…

  • New player for Microgaming Poker Network
    New player for Microgaming Poker Network

    London-based Ascensus Interactive has become the latest poker room to join the expanding Microgaming Poker Network. Founded in 2018 by three industry…

  • Maria Ho produces in Poker Showdown in Florida
    Maria Ho produces in Poker Showdown in Florida

    The big events are in the books at the Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown in Florida, Poker News is reporting. Two marquee…

See All News