Aussie Millions 2017 Schedule confirmed

by Noah Taylor Last Updated
Aussie Millions
Aussie Millions winner

Ami Barer takes home the cash at the Aussie Millions

The highlight of the antipodean poker calendar, the 2017 Aussie Millions Poker Championship schedule has been announced.  The event that forms part of the APPT (Asia-Pacific Poker Tour) will take place at Melbourne’s Crown Casino from January 11-30. The entire series is sure once again to attract top quality from around Australia and further afield.

We thought we’d go into a little bit more detail around the scheduling for 2017’s highlight of poker in this country.

The 2017 Championship kicks off with a $1 million-guaranteed No Limit Hold’em tournament carrying a buy-in of just $1150.  Also making a return is the No Limit Hold’em ‘Accumulator’, which began life in Melbourne. The $1150 tournament carries three separate Day 1s.  However, players can enter as many Day 1s as they like and bring all “accumulated” chips forward to Day 2.  Returning in 2017 are the showpiece Aussie Millions tournaments: the Main Event, the $100,000 Challenge tournament, and the high roller $250,000 Challenge.

In 2016, 732 runners turned out for the flagship $10,000 Main Event. WPT host Tony Dunst was unlucky to come out a runner-up against ultimate champ, Alan “Ari” Engel. The Main Event will be held from January 22-29, perfect timing for the Australian Open tennis grand slam happening across at Melbourne Park.

While the Aussie Millions has always attracted some of the bigger names, due in no small part to the regular High Roller “Challenge” events in the schedule, Aussies tend to perform well.  In 2016, three Aussies made the final table, Alex Lynskey, Dylan Honeyman and John Apostolidis, while in 2015, South Melbourne’s own, Manny Stavropoulos came out on top.

The upcoming Championship will be preceded by a special ‘Warm-Up Week’ at the Crown Casino.  Taking place from September 12-18, freeplay mega-satellites and nightly $250 satellites will be held. These guarantee direct entry into the 2017 Main Event.  On the 18th September, the $550 Aussie Millions 5-Seat Guarantee Chase will give players a final chance to book their seat in Melbourne.

2017 Aussie Millions Schedule

(All buy-ins in Australian Dollars)

January 11-15 $1,150 No Limit Hold’em ($1 million guarantee)

January 18-22 $1,150 No Limit Hold’em Accumulator

January 20-21 $25,000 Challenge

January 22-23 $100,000 Challenge

January 26 $1,150 Aussie Millions Tournament of Champions

January 29-30 $250,000 Challenge

January 22-29 $10,600 Main Event

Back to top