The #1 Resource for aussie gambling!
  • Safe & Secure Sites
  • 100's of Free Games
  • Expert Casino Reviews

The #1 Resource for aussie gambling!

Scorchers favourite to beat Sixers and claim third BBL title

Fri, Jan 27, 11:58am by Head Editor

Preview: Big Bash League Grand Final: Perth Scorchers v Sydney Sixers

Date and Time: Saturday January 28, 7:40pm AEDT

Venue: WACA, Perth

TV: Live on Channel Ten

After an amazing season of records both on and off the pitch, the Perth Scorchers host the Sydney Sixers in the sixth Big Bash Grand Final at the WACA in Perth.

The visitors have travelled many miles to get to the big dance, they their first must win game last Saturday when they beat the Stars in Melbourne, then backed it up with a super over win in Brisbane over the Heat and now they find themselves in the decider in Perth.

Sportsbet have installed the hosts as $1.74 favourites and rightly so after their comfortable 27-run win over the Stars in the first semi-final. The Sixers have had the much-tougher route after finishing third on the ladder and are $2.08. I think that betting market is about right.

Mitchell Johnson set up the Scorchers semi-final win with a brilliant spell of bowling that will go down in the BBL history books. He finished with the astonishing figures of 3-3 off his four overs, this is all from a man who had to be convinced of coming out of retirement for this tournament. He is at $3 to be the highest wicket taker for his team again in this one.

Thanks to ‘Johnno’ the Stars could manage only 8-136 off their 20 overs, a target that was never going to be enough. The Scorchers sealing a comprehensive seven wicket win with more than three overs to spare.
WATCH: Our Preview of the Big Bash Final

Shaun Marsh was in the runs again, making 56 not out off 44 balls. Unfortunately for the hosts and the sell-out crowd, he won’t be there on Saturday and he’s in New Zealand with the national team.

The Sixers booked their place in their second Grand Final in three years by winning a fascinating game of cricket that left everyone stunned. Ben Dwarshuis skied a pull shot off the very last ball of the innings to give the visitors the two runs they needed to send the match into a super over.

Brisbane had earlier set the Sixers a target of 168 to win after Brendon McCullum has earlier made an entertaining 46 off 27 balls. It was his decision as captain to not have a mid-wicket in place though that was the talking point in the post-match analysis as the Sixers ran the two runs they needed when the ball was in the air.

Sean Abbott backed up his four wickets in the first innings by bowling a solid super over that got the Sixers into the Grand Final. He’s in good form and could be worth a nibble at $3.50 for most wickets for his team.

I’m backing the Scorchers to be too strong at home, winning their third premiership in just six seasons of the BBL competition, a superb effort.

Suggested Bet: Scorchers to win: $1.74

Sportsbet Full Market:

Head to Head

Scorchers $1.74

Sixers $2.08

Top Scorchers Runscorer

Michael Klinger $3.20

Ian Bell $4.20

Sam Whiteman $5.50

Adam Voges $5.50

Cameron Bancroft $9

Hilton Cartwright $10

Ashton Turner $11

Ashton Agar $21

Cameron Valente $26

Andrew Tye $51

Tim Bresnan $51

Mitchell Johnson $101

Jason Behrendorff $101

Jhye Richardson $101

James Muirhead $101

Top Sixers Runscorer

Daniel Hughes $3.75

Michael Lumb $4.50

Moises Henriques $4.50

Colin Munro $5

Nic Maddinson $7

Ryan Carters $9

Brad Haddin $11

Jordan Silk $13

Johan Botha $21

Sean Abbott $41

Ben Dwarshuis $67

Nathan Lyon $101

Doug Bollinger $101

William Somerville $101

Jackson Bird $101

Top Scorchers Wicket Taker

Mitchell Johnson $3

Andrew Tye $3.50

Tim Bresnan $4

Jason Behrendorff $4.50

Jhye Richardson $5

James Muirhead $5

Ashton Agar $6

Cameron Valente $6

Ashton Turner $6

Hilton Cartwright $10

Top Sixers Wicket Taker

Sean Abbott $3.50

Nathan Lyon $3.75

Jackson Bird $4

Johan Botha $4.50

Ben Dwarshuis $5

William Somerville $5

Doug Bollinger $5

Nic Maddinson $10

Man of the Match

Michael Klinger $7

Daniel Hughes $8

Mitchell Johnson $10

Ian Bell $10

Nic Maddinson $10

Moises Henriques $11

Michael Lumb $11

Sean Abbott $11

Colin Munro $11

Andrew Tye $13

Sam Whiteman $13

Cameron Bancroft $15

Johan Botha $15

Adam Voges $15

Jason Behrendorff $18

Nathan Lyon $18

Ashton Agar $21

Jackson Bird $21

Jordan Silk $21

Hilton Cartwright $21

Ashton Turner $21

Brad Haddin $21

Tim Bresnan $21

Ben Dwarshuis $26

Ryan Carters $26

Doug Bollinger $26

Jhye Richardson $26

William Somerville $26

James Muirhead $34

Cameron Valente $34

More News

  • Wynn big donor to Republican Party
    Wynn big donor to Republican Party

    US billionaire Steve Wynn left his casino empire and a top Republican National Committee spot last year, after allegations of sexual harassment…

  • Brimbank council cracks down on pokies
    Brimbank council cracks down on pokies

    Brimbank has become the latest Victorian council to crack down on poker machines after a state topping $139.5 million was lost to…

  • SkyCity shares up after online casino announcement
    SkyCity shares up after online casino announcement

    SkyCity Entertainment Group’s share price has edged higher following the news that they will open an online sports book later this year.…

See All News