The #1 Resource for aussie gambling!
  • Safe & Secure Sites
  • 100's of Free Games
  • Expert Casino Reviews

The #1 Resource for aussie gambling!

South Africa favourite against new look Australian line-up

Mon, Nov 21, 1:32pm by Head Editor

Preview: Australia v South Africa, Third Test

Date and Time: Thursday, November 24, 2:30pm

Venue: Adelaide Oval, South Australia

TV: Channel Nine

With a 2-0 lead, South Africa already have a series win over Australia in the bag as the team’s head to Adelaide for a day-night affair which gets underway on Thursday afternoon.

It will be an almost unrecognisable Aussie XI that takes the field with the fallout from the 177-run loss in Perth and the innings and 80 run demolition in Hobart leaving the selectors with no choice but to swing the axe.

It’s been a tumultuous week for Cricket Australia with Trevor Hohns replacing Rod Marsh as chairman of selectors. Hohns and his panel then wasted little time in showing the door to five players (opener Joe Burns, middle-order batsmen Adam Voges (who was not considered for selection due to concussion) and Callum Ferguson, gloveman Peter Nevill and fast bowler Joe Mennie).

It means there could be as many as four debuts with batsmen Matt Renshaw, Peter Handscomb and Nic Maddinson all called up into the squad, along with swing bowler, Chadd Sayers. If all four play, it will be the most debutants in an Australian Test side since 1978.

Sportsbet has South Africa as a $2 favourite to become the first team ever to clean sweep the Aussies on Australian soil. The hosts are $2.85 and the draw is at $4.75.

WATCH: Our Preview of the third Test

Rain had the made the draw a short priced pre-match favourite ($1.61) ahead of the second Test and we did lose the whole of the second day’s play but by then the Proteas were in charge. Australia were all out for 85 (Philander 5/21) batting first with only two batsmen reaching double figures.

Either side of the rain South Africa replied with 326 (Hazlewood 6/89) with Quinton de Kock top scoring with 104. Australia then crashed to 161 all out in their second innings as the game ended on day four with Kyle Abbott taking six wickets and the Man of the Match award.

New chairman of selectors, Trevor Hohns told reporters on Sunday that Australia might go into the pink ball Test with four specialist seamers in light of Sayers’ outstanding recent record at Adelaide Oval, which might mean spinner Nathan Lyon would be left out of the starting XI.

Australia has not undergone this many changes to an XI since 1988, but to have this many new faces in the middle of a series presents an almost unprecedented level of renewal, going back to the World Series days in the 1970’s.

The hope now for Australian cricket and their millions of supporters is that the selectors ‘pick and stick’ with this squad as Renshaw is just 20-years old, Maddinson, 24 and Handscomb 25.

Amazingly, David Warner is now the oldest player in the squad, having just turned 30.

In another massive development, South African captain, Faf du Plessis, was charged with ball tampering on Friday after Australian television pictures showed him applying saliva to the ball with a sweet in his mouth during the second Test.

South Africa are set to contest the charge, with a one-match ban hanging over the skipper should he be found guilty. Despite this, South Africa are obviously the much more settled side and playing brilliant cricket. Australia, with their new look team will take some time to gel.

Suggested Bet: South Africa to win: $2

Sportsbet Market:

Head to Head
Australia $2.85
South Africa $2
Draw $4.75

Man of the Match:
Steve Smith $8.50
David Warner $8.50
Mitchell Starc $9.50
Usman Khawaja $11.00
Josh Hazlewood $15.00
Matt Renshaw $15.00
Peter Handscomb $15.00
Nathan Lyon $21.00
Nic Maddinson $21.00
Chadd Sayers $26.00
Matthew Wade $34.00
Hashim Amla $10.00
Faf du Plessis $11.00
Kagiso Rabada $13.00
Vernon Philander $13.00
JP Duminy $15.00
Quinton de Kock $15.00
Kyle Abbott $15.00
Morne Morkel $18.00
Dean Elgar $18.00
Stephen Cook $21.00
Keshav Maharaj $26.00
Rilee Rossouw $21.00
Tabraiz Shamsi $26.00
Temba Bavuma $26.00
Dane Vilas $34.00

Australia Top Run Scorer – 1st Innings 
David Warner $3.75
Steve Smith $3.75
Usman Khawaja $4.00
Matt Renshaw $6.00
Peter Handscomb $7.00
Nic Maddinson $8.00
Matthew Wade $15.00
Mitchell Starc $67.00
Chadd Sayers $101.00
Josh Hazlewood $101.00
Nathan Lyon $151.00

South Africa Top Runscorer – 1st innings
Hashim Amla $4.33
Faf du Plessis $5.50
Dean Elgar $5.50
Quinton de Kock $6.00
JP Duminy $6.00
Stephen Cook $7.00
Temba Bavuma $8.00
Rilee Russouw $8.00
Dane Vilas $13.00
Vernon Philander $51.00
Keshav Maharaj $67.00
Kyle Abbott $101.00
Kagiso Rabada $276.00
Morne Morkel $276.00
Tabraiz Shamsi $276.00

Australia’s Leading Wicket Taker – 1st Innings 
Mitchell Starc $2.70
Josh Hazlewood $3.00
Nathan Lyon $4.50
Chadd Sayers $4.50
Jackson Bird $5.50
Steve Smith $26.00

South Africa’s Leading Wicket Taker – 1st Innings 
Kagiso Rabada $3.50
Vernon Philander $3.50
Kyle Abbott $3.75
Morne Morke $l4.00
Keshav Maharaj $5.00
Tabraiz Shamsi $6.00
JP Duminy $21.00

More News

See All News