The #1 Resource for aussie gambling!
  • Safe & Secure Sites
  • 100's of Free Games
  • Expert Casino Reviews

The #1 Resource for aussie gambling!

Roar win 2014 A-League premiership – Victory favourite in 2015

Mon, May 5, 4:00pm by Dominic Ciconte

Brisbane Roar GFBRISBANE Roar’s premiership heroes will still be suffering from a hangover following last night’s glorious title-winning performance, but that hasn’t stopped Sportingbet from quickly opening up a market on the 2014/15 A-League season.

Surprisingly, despite last night’s incredible 2-1 Grand Final victory over the Western Sydney Wanderers, it’s not Brisbane who start as title favourites next season.

It’s Melbourne Victory.

For the third time in four seasons, the Brisbane Roar came from behind to win the A-League Grand Final last night.

In front of a packed Home crowd of 50,000-plus and a record amount of viewers on television, the Roar found a way to score a late equaliser after being 1-0 down in the 86th minute and then went on to win in extra time.

In his last match for Brisbane before leaving for Melbourne Victory next season, striker Bersart Berisha scored the crucial equaliser. Roar’s sub Henrique De Andrade Silva scored again in the 108th minute to seal the trophy.

Brisbane Roar last night became the only team in the competition’s history to win three titles.

The Wanderers were left in despair following the match. It was their second consecutive Grand Final defeat. If the odds are to be taken seriously, redemption next season could be another tough ask. has installed Melbourne Victory as $5 favourites to win the 2014/15 A-League season, in front of Adelaide United, Brisbane Roar, Melbourne Heart and the Wanderers all at $6.50.

Sportingbet analyst Andrew Brown said the Victory would get a huge personnel boost that justified the early market.

“With Besart Berisha boosting an already strong side, Victory look the team to beat next season,” Brown said.

“Melbourne Heart would be double their odds if Manchester City hadn’t bought them, but they’ll get a solid marquee striker and plenty of other decent players and could even be shorter odds by the start of the season.”

The Newcastle Jets and Wellington Phoenix are equal outsiders at $15. 2014/15 A-League premiership market

Melbourne Victory $5

Adelaide United $6.50

Brisbane Roar $6.50

Melbourne Heart $6.50

Western Sydney Wanderers $6.50

Central Coast Mariners $7

Sydney FC $8

Perth Glory $12

Newcastle Jets $15

Wellington Phoenix $15

More News

See All News